netkingcol

thinking outside the tank

Will Smashwords suck?

leave a comment »

I’ve taken to heart my reading of Jeff Jarvis’s book ‘What Would Google Do?’ in which he documents how his interactions with Dell concerning hardware and communication problems led him to an understanding of the new internet-based business landscape.

I posted yesterday that I had uploaded a second book – The Stones of Liverpool – to Smashwords, a digital publishing business. Their automated conversion process generates a wide range of formats for the text, one of which is the IDPF’s EPUB. When I downloaded the book in this format, I found that it crashed my version of Adobe Digital Editions. The first book I uploaded – Mus musicus – converted correctly and doesn’t crash Digital Editions.

I emailed Smashwords support this morning. The question is: are they listening? I’ll let you know.

Copyright © Colin Hazlehurst, 2009

Written by netkingcol

December 5, 2009 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

